Quality small (9") roof vent options? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-19-2019, 10:39 PM   #1

Trailer: 13 ft Burro
Question Quality small (9") roof vent options?

I've been working on my 1983 13' Burro for 10 years and have eliminated all leaks except an insidious one coming in near (or through) the warped 9" x 9" roof vent in heavy rain.

I'd like to replace this old 9" vent and am afraid to upgrade to the modern standard 14" x 14" vent/fan size, since the fiberglass near the vent is thin. Also, I don't want to complicate things by trying to build a frame to support a larger vent as described in some Burro and Trillium threads on the FGRV forum.

Unfortunately, all I can find to replace the small 9" x 9" vent is a model of questionable durability, with minimal overhang to keep water from entering! ... I see this marketed as the "ELIXIR 9X9 MINI-VENT with 7/8” garnish" and "Heng's 18511C1G White 9" Mini Vent", available here:
https://www.amazon.com/Hengs-18511C1.../dp/B007HRI2VI
https://www.iboats.com/shop/mini-ven...roof-vent.html

Does anyone know of higher-quality options for small vents?
Basically, I'd like one with a bigger overhang, made from plastic that isn't going to disintegrate after 5-10 years.

I've exhausted every option, except this ingenious forum. Please help!
Rebecca D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 10:06 AM   #2

Name: Pat
Trailer: Escape 2013 19 ft
California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebecca D View Post
I've been working on my 1983 13' Burro for 10 years and have eliminated all leaks except an insidious one coming in near (or through) the warped 9" x 9" roof vent in heavy rain.