Questions about floor replacement - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-13-2020, 02:38 PM   #1

Name: Lydia
Trailer: Scamp 13 1977
Pennsylvania
Questions about floor replacement

Hi, this is my first time posting here. I have a 1977 13 foot scamp, standard layout. I discovered that the back of the dance floor was rotted through, so I'm going to have to replace at least part of the floor. I'm planning on doing a partial replacement by adhering the new wood I put in to the old wood that is still in good condition. I was planning on using liquid nails to join the two pieces because no one will be stepping on/putting any weight on the area, but I could use tips on how to properly replace the floor because I've never done much carpentry. Would liquid nails work to adhere the floor to the metal frame and to the existing wood? What kind of screws should I use to screw the wood into the metal frame? I've read people use West systems epoxy for the bottom and to adhere the wood to the metal frame and fiberglass lip, but I was thinking of using liquid nails as I said, and then a spray or paint that is mean to waterproof wood on the road side if that would be sufficient compared to the epoxy. No store or lumbar yard near where I live carries 5/8" marine or exterior plywood. Would 3/4" or 1/2" marine ply fit properly in the fiberglass lip?
The fiberglass shell in the front and back is resting on the metal frame. I've read that this is a problem because it causes stress to the fiberglass, but I don't believe there is any damage to the wood in the front of the trailer (where the couch is) so I'm not sure why it would be resting on the frame or what I can do to correct this. I've read a lot of forum posts about this subject already but I wanted to ask more questions since I have no experience with this type of project. I appreciate any help. Thanks