Refrigerator leaks inside unit when defrosting - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-02-2017, 05:44 PM   #1

Name: David
Trailer: Scamp
California
Refrigerator leaks inside unit when defrosting

Hello all, I am a new owner of a 19 foot Scamp that I purchased in November 2016. I have been fighting cancer for 7 months and have come out on top. Now I am ready to take my Scamp out. However as I was checking all the systems I have found some water damage below the refrigerator, I believe it is coming from the condensation when it is turned off or defrosting. I looked around the bottom for a drain hose but did not see any, does this unit have a drain pan ? I have A Dometic refrigerator. Has any one experienced this before.
Unit works great on both gas and electric.

Thanks
lindsay3990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2017, 05:49 PM   #2

Name: Robert
Trailer: 2015 Escape 19 "Past Tents" 2018 F150 Lariat 2.7L EB SuperCrew
Arkansas
Registry
Wow, congrats on beating the cancer Lindsay! It claimed my Mom a couple of months ago.

We just lay a towel on the floor of the fridge when it's defrosting to soak up any water. Works for us.
Old 07-02-2017, 05:52 PM   #3

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
On the Dometic in my Casita there's a tray under the fins in the rear of the refrigerator that catches the defrost water and on the left side underneath the tray there's a small plastic fitting the tray drains into. That fitting goes through the rear of the refrigerator to a black tube on the outside that goes through a hole in the trailer bottom with a filter on the end end to keep the bugs out.

Does yours have anything like that?

Joe
Joe Romas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2017, 05:59 PM   #4

Name: bob
Trailer: 1996 Casita 17 Spirit Deluxe; 1946 Modernistic teardrop
New York