removing fleck stone spray on paint - Fiberglass RV

Old 07-26-2019, 11:20 AM   #1

Name: Laurie
Trailer: dreamin and a planning
Ontario
removing fleck stone spray on paint

Hi there! We just purchased a Captain trailer and are in the middle of trying to fix some things. Sometime previously the inner cloth lining on the walls and ceiling was removed and these surfaces were sprayed with that textured stone type paint. Some of it is cracking and peeling especially around the curves. I would like to reline the interior with reflextix and some type of vinyl but am not sure if I should remove the stone finish or just try and go over what won't come off???? Does anyone know an easy way to remove this stuff.....any and all suggestions welcome...Laurie

dolltrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2019, 11:51 AM   #2

Name: Randy
Trailer: Casita 17 FD
Florida
Do not use remover

I have no experience or expertise in this issue, but I can tell you a few things.

Most paint removers would damage the underlying fiberglass. Some that might not, like the citrus based ones, would be very messy and hard to do inside a trailer, because they usually require washing off with water. Plus there is the issue of fumes, but that might be ovecome by using large box fans.

If I ever tried to coat the inside of my Casita, I would consider this: I would aggressively scrape away any loose paint. If there were questionable spots where the paint is not fully adhering to the fiberglass, I would spot-treat them with a paint remover that I had tested to be sure it does not soften or damage the fiberglass. If there are any seams or obviously rough spots, you might feather them in using something like auto body filler (e.g., Bondo).