Rivet for Window Cover Hook - Fiberglass RV

Old 06-19-2020, 07:49 AM   #1

Name: Henry
Trailer: Boler
NC
Rivet for Window Cover Hook

Hey folks got a problem Iím hoping you can help me with?
One of the hooks that holds the window front cover on my 1975 Boler (the Good Egg) popped out and I wanted to fix it this week Ė so I bought a riveter and some rivets. Drilled out the old rivet from the hook and tried to put a new one in - The rivet held in the hook but not the exterior of the camper - just fell out. Iíve never messed with rivets before this is my first time.

Attached are pictures of the hook and the hole and riveter and rivets. Do I need a bigger rivet or do I need to try to make the hole smaller?

Any advice to get a good would be great I was hoping to use the camper next weekend. Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1157.JPG
Views:	8
Size:	368.3 KB
ID:	135512Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1158.JPG
Views:	12
Size:	212.2 KB
ID:	135513Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1160.JPG
Views:	9
Size:	365.2 KB
ID:	135514Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1161.JPG
Size:	228.7 KB
ID:	135515

HankGee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2020, 08:00 AM   #2

Name: Alexander
Trailer: 1979 Boler B1300
New Hampshire
If the picture of you holding the hook shows the new rivet, then the one you used isn't long enough. The other thing to try and do would be to use a backing washer on the inside of the trailer if you have access to where the hole is. The backing washer will give a better grip and spread the force out. Basically you want enough length so when the rivet is set there is a bulb against the inside wall.

Alex Adams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2020, 09:21 AM   #3

NC
Thanks Alex, appreciate your reply! - Yes indeed that's the new one.