Roof A/C -the good and the bad - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-08-2019, 07:59 PM   #1

Name: KoyD
Trailer: SCAMP 13
North Carolina
Roof A/C -the good and the bad

I just got this 13' Scamp with a "roof A/C" (coleman-brand)on it. This is my first fiberglass camper with a "roof A/C". I don't know much about these roof A/C, Are they reliable? I know they are expensive. Do they last long? Are they easy to replace and install ? Do they "leak" on the roof ? I have no experience about these A/C. Any advice on this topic will be appreciated, thank you to this forum.
NCBOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2019, 09:47 PM   #2

Name: Justus
Trailer: Currently Shopping
California
Hi Koy. I'm looking at a trailer without AC right now and have been doing a little research into adding one. The Coleman Mach 8 series seems to be very popular; I am looking at the Cub 9200 in particular because of its low profile and low power draw. In fact when I search for top rated rooftop ACs, the results are dominated by Coleman and Dometic. Not sure how long they last, but you can maximize the lifespan by doing the recommended maintenance: https://www.airxcel.com/docs/default...sn=c8a90e6b_12.

If it goes out for good, you can always replace it with a Fan-Tastic Fan and use a portable AC when needed. Some people use window ACs; I'm considering one of the AC units on rollers that you can use to cool a bedroom. It can exhaust through a window, but you give up some floor space. I saw one post where someone said they kept it in the bathroom of a 13' Scamp.