Running a charge wire - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-15-2010, 08:43 AM   #1

Trailer: 1972 Boler 13 ft
I know this has been covered before but I am not good at searching and can't find it. We would like to run a simple charge wire to charge the trailer battery from our car battery while driving. Need a lesson on how to do this. We have separate 12volt and 120 systems
Barbara Gardin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 09:07 AM   #2

Trailer: Fiber Stream 1978 / Honda Odyssey LX 2003
Registry
Send a message via AIM to Frederick L. Simson
Talking

You usually run a 10 gauge (or larger) wire from the Tow vehicle's Battery Positive post thru isolation diodes to the 7-Pin connector's 12 volt pin.

Then you make sure you run a similar wire from the Trailer's 7-pin connector's 12 volt pin to the House battery positive post.

Link to "The 12 Volt Side of Life"
Old 06-15-2010, 09:17 AM   #3

Trailer: 2008 Casita 17 ft Spirit Deluxe
Registry
I guess the first question to ask would be: Do you have a round 7-pin "Bargman" type trailer plug? To run a charging circuit you will need one if you don't already have one installed.

Wiring Code 7 way Car End # Color Gauge Circuit Function connector interior
1 white 10 ga. common ground
2 blue 12 ga. electric brake
3 green 14 ga. tail/running lights
4 black 10 ga. battery charge (+)
5 red 14 ga. left turn/stop
6 brown 14 ga. right turn/stop
7 yellow 14 ga. auxiliary/back up
Note on pin #7: Please note that the center terminal is labeled as an auxiliary circuit, most commonly used for backup lights, and is not a ground terminal as many try to make it.

Wiring Code 7 way Trailer End # Color Gauge Circuit Function connector interior
1 white 10 ga. common ground
2 blue 12 ga. electric brake
3 green 14 ga. tail/running lights
4 black 10 ga. battery charge (+)
5 red 14 ga. left turn/stop