Safe T Alert Propane and Methane Gas Detector - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-12-2016, 07:58 PM   #1

Name: Barbara
Trailer: CASITA
Maryland
Safe T Alert Propane and Methane Gas Detector

I recently purchased a 2006 Casita 17' Freedom Deluxe. Every time I plug into electric and let the battery charge overnight the Gas Detector goes into alarm mode. It continues to alarm until I open windows and the door. Within less than a minute the alarm stops and light changes from red to green. I did detect a faint sulfur smell but only briefly. I am having the battery checked and hoping I just need a new one. I appreciate any and all suggestions. I am new to troubleshooting. My husband always took care of that and I took care of cooking and cleaning. Love to Camp
Love Camping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 08:14 PM   #2

Name: Lynn
Trailer: 2019 Escape 21C, NTU April 2022 (was 2013 Casita Spirit Deluxe 17)
Massachusetts
Don't know if the propane detector Casita installs will also detect hydrogen (which batteries give off—there are some detectors that do), but you're wise to get the battery out and checked. If it's hot after disconnecting shore power and after opening the battery compartment and waiting a few minutes, it needs replacing.

I'd also replace the propane detector, as it's 10 years old. Don't know how long they're good for, but 10 years is plenty.

/Mr Lynn

"Hillbilly at Harvard"—Honky-tonk Country and Bluegrass
Mr Lynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 10:01 PM   #3

Maryland

Thanks for the suggestions. I also feel for safety reasons, it's important to be proactive and replace items that could mean life or the other....I am really looking forward to get out there with the little camper. Loving Camping
Old 07-13-2016, 09:19 AM   #4

Trailer: 2002 19 ft Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel
Send a message via Yahoo to Darwin Maring