Scamp Door Hinge Screw Stuck - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-14-2019, 03:37 PM   #1

Trailer: 1993 13 ft Scamp
Registry
Scamp Door Hinge Screw Stuck

I am in the process of putting in new door hinge hardware & cannot get the bottom screw loose from the bottom door hinge... the standard slot is pretty stripped & I can't even budge it trying with a vise grip from the other end.

Any ideas? Thanks Click image for larger version

Name:	20190814_163716.jpeg
Views:	13
Size:	67.2 KB
ID:	131016
barryra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 08:21 PM   #2

Name: Lisa
Trailer: 1992 Scamp 13'
California
Registry
I hope others will chime in because my only thought (and I'm not a mechanic or someone with a lot of experience), but I know I would probably use some PB Blaster and try and soak the area for lubrication.
lisantica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 11:40 PM   #3

Name: RogerDat
Trailer: 2010 Scamp 16
Michigan
Got no slot for the screw driver? Maybe try a dremel with a cut off wheel to make a slot. Can also use those oscillating saws with a metal cutting blade to cut a slot but have to be really careful. Duct tape or duct tape over some folded aluminum foil or cardboard around the head can help prevent hitting the inner rat fur or elephant hide liner. Won't stop a solid slip that hits but can prevent a minor bump from doing any damage.

Break Away, or other penetrating oils can loosen those if given some time. Using a torch or a heat gun or even a strong blow dryer to very carefully heat the bolt, then spray with break away will cause the penetrating oil to be drawn into the threads as it "follows" the receding heat. Also the expansion of heating followed by the contraction of being quench by the penetrating oil can help break the nut free.