Scamp Taillights Acting Funny - Fiberglass RV
RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×

Old 04-20-2020, 04:13 PM   #1

Name: Brett
Trailer: 2000 Scamp 19'
Virginia
Scamp Taillights Acting Funny

So, I am a new owner of a 2000 19' Scamp. When I use the turn signals, I get all sorts of strange things: the left turn signal will turn on the emergency flashers and the right turn signal won't do anything at all. I have confirmed that everything on the truck end is okay with my multimeter. I'm relatively new to this stuff, but I'm thinking this is a grounding issue? When I took apart the taillight casings, I also noticed that there was a crack that let water into them, so there is some corrosion. I noticed that there is what looks to be a grounding wire pigtailed into the left taillight. It then runs into the back of the Scamp and is pigtailed to another wire that isn't attached to anything. I've attached pictures. I'm assuming this is the problem but I don't know what to do next. Should I ground that wire to something...and if so, what? I couldn't find a main ground anywhere on the scamp. Thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
20200420_170913.jpg   20200420_170756.jpg  

brettrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2020, 05:49 PM   #2

Name: bill
Trailer: 2013 Escape 19; 1977 Trillium 1300
The Mountains of North Carolina
Registry
I'd seek out a wiring diagram first. Hopefully Scamp can provide, or check the document center on this forum. I found a wiring diagram for my 1977 Trillium in the document center, very helpful!!

Typically the running and tail lights should ground back to the tow vehicle.

Actually, the wiring diagram below looks pretty helpful. It includes wire color, which is the first step. I also see a ground going back to the TV.
thrifty bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2020, 06:03 PM   #3

Name: Gordon
Trailer: 2015 Scamp (16 Std Layout 4) with '15 Toyota Sienna LE Tug
North Carolina