Success with Int paint walls,countertops,Cabinets, Carpet for floors. Walls, too? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Maintenance | Restoration | Modifications | Problem Solving > Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 08-29-2012, 02:25 PM   #1

Trailer: Love Bug 1974
Success with Int paint walls,countertops,Cabinets, Carpet for floors. Walls, too?

Greetings!

I've owned my Lovebug The Fab Faberge Lovebug!
for several years now. As a former Interior Designer, I am accustomed to a lot of different products and had access to manufacturers specs.

When I chose to paint the interior of the Lovebug, I used a polyurethane paint that had an almost identical composition to Interlux Marine paint. I noticed the paint at a Diamond Vogel paint store and called the company and got the specs and compared them to Interlux. The people at the Diamond Vogel store custom colored the paint for me, creamy white for the walls. I was very happy as the paint covered the cleaned ensolite in one coat and dried to a nice semi-gloss sheen. It's very washable and still looks bright.
I used the same paint in a soft robin's egg blue on the fiberglass cabinets and doors. They have held up beautifully and would have moreso if I had not carried so much and allowed a few things to shift on the floor. Nonetheless, all it needs it a fresh coat, some ten years later, and she'll be fresh and new.
Many companies have come out with this polyurethane paint so instead of spending $110 on the Interlux paint, I suggest checking around.