Thinking like a thief looking at my Scamp's door. - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-07-2014, 02:07 PM   #1

Trailer: 1990 Scamp 16 ft
Thinking like a thief looking at my Scamp's door.

FGRV folks,

When I try to think like a thief and look at my Scamp's door it looks like such an easy break-in. I doubt any self-respecting housebreaker would be challenged at all. Using a small wrench or nut driver I would quietly have the hinges off and be inside in a couple of minutes, no matter how fancy the door latch is, and I have zero experience in such nefarious dealings.

I have tossed around several solutions in my mind to extend break-in to at least 5 minutes. Most promising are a couple of steel pins in the door's edge that would engage the door "jamb" as the door closes. But with the thin door, etc it doesn't look easy. And a crowbar wielding thief would be quickly in whatever I do.

Have you folks given this any thought? I would love to hear/see if you have any solutions. I realize there is no true security in/on our eggs. I just want it to be a little more difficult for any brigand to force entry; maybe she will try the nearby stickbuilt instead. Meanwhile I keep the insurance paid up.

Thanks, john
John Linck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 02:11 PM   #2

Trailer: Escape 17 ft
The harder you make it for a thief, the more damage they will do breaking in. Is the stuff in the trailer worth what it will cost to repair the trailer?
Old 11-07-2014, 02:22 PM   #3

Trailer: 2009 19 ft Escape / 2009 Honda Pilot
Registry
If they don't go in a door, how hard would it really be to break in through a window instead? I would just make sure you have the insurance coverage you need, to eliminate any worry.
“Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.” — Abraham Lincoln
Jim Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote