Trailer Dolly - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-09-2014, 02:00 PM   #1

Name: Beverly J
Trailer: 1975 Boler
Washington
Trailer Dolly

I am still a novice at backing up and parking my 72 Boler, so I was thinking of purchasing a trailer dolly. Most say they can handle 600 pounds, but Boler is 900.
How true do you need to stay to the total weight of the trailer?
Thanks,
Beverly
Beverly Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 02:02 PM   #2

Trailer: 1988 16 ft Scamp Deluxe
I use this one and my Scamp weighs far more than your Boler. Heavy Duty Trailer Dolly But, then again I only use it to move the trailer about five feet one way and two feet the other.

I'll tell you that this is a bandaid for parking. You need to get the practice so you are confident you can park wherever you WANT. It doesn't take long and you get better every single time. Go slow, go slow, go slow... small movements, small movements, small movements. If it starts going south on you STOP. Don't keep backing up, it WON'T get any better. Pull forward and start again.

You can do it, I know you can.
Donna D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 02:10 PM   #3

Trailer: Escape 17 ft
It is likely that the 600 lb. max refers to the tongue weight ( which would be the weight on the dolly ), not the total weight of the trailer.
Old 03-09-2014, 02:14 PM   #4

Trailer: Class A Motorhome
I think that the 600 lbs refers to tongue weight, not maximum trailer weight.

BUT: If you are moving on hard surfaces only, a 4 wheel moving dolly works a lot easier because you can push on the coach and won't hurt you back pushing or pulling on the dolly handle.

Just get the tongue jack on a piece of plywood laid across the middle of the dolly.