Trailer security - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-04-2009, 12:28 PM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
I've never used a trailer before, but have a new Scamp on order. If I unhook the trailer from the SUV to go hiking or fishing or whatever for the day, what keeps someone else from backing up to my brand new trailer and hauling it away?!! (I won't always be leaving it in organized campsites where fellow campers might act as deterrents). What do other people use to protect their trailers? Wheel locks? chains? a song and a prayer? Sadly, my house has been broken in to too many times to simply put my trust in ALL humanity -- it only takes one thief!
Thanks for any suggestions. Richard
Richard Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 01:02 PM   #2

Trailer: 16 ft Casita Spirit Deluxe
Lots of different things but a cable with built in lock thru the spoke of the rim and around the frame pulled nice and tight so they can't slip it off and put another tire on is one option...... cable around frame to tree is another. chain is no good and too easy to break a link.
Front safety chains wrapped around the crank jack so it can't be moved is another and a pin coupler lock is still another.
If your worried about inside .... a box of head lice opened on the table would get me out of there LOL
Joe
Joe Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 01:03 PM   #3

Trailer: 2007 19 ft Escape 5.0 / 2002 GMC (1973 Boler project)
Registry
Send a message via Yahoo to Alf S.
Hi: Richard...Welcome...Let me hum a few bars ssorry!!! Security is there for the honest folks!!! We always padlocked the coupler down/closed and also the safety chains together... but some one could still back in and wrap a chain around the tongue of the trailer and haul it... BUT that is the EXCEPTION and you can never have total insurance against loss.
Alf S. North shore of Lake Erie