Trillium Belly Band: is this a workable fixit? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-18-2015, 12:29 PM   #1

Name: Colleen
Trailer: Trillium
WA
Trillium Belly Band: is this a workable fixit?

Hello,

I know there are a lot of threads about the infamous Trilly Belly Band, but I want to ask some specific questions. I have no experience glassing, and am not really motivated to add it to my resume right now. But I suspect my 1980 Trilly 1300 may be in need of some TLC around there. Considering the state of the front window I just cleaned up ... I wouldn't be surprised. Here's what I propose to do and I'm hoping you can tell me if this is a workable fix.

1. Remove the current band by drilling out the rivets and clean the area thoroughly. 2. Fill in the rivet holes with marine grade, sand-able, non-silicone epoxy. Allow to cure, and sand. 3. Clean the aluminum band with Mag wheel cleaner. 4. Reinstall the band with stainless steel screws. 5. "Paint" around the screw heads with a bit more epoxy.

Do you think this will keep the water on the outside of the trailer where it belongs for a good long time?
Colleeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 12:53 PM   #2
Commercial Member

Name: Mike
Trailer: Boler13/trillium4500/buro13
Ontario
Don't forget you will have to re seal the top of the belly band with a a good quality non siliconized caulk .
Mikmay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 06:17 PM   #3

WA
Silicone on fiberglass

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikmay View Post
Don't forget you will have to re seal the top of the belly band with a a good quality non siliconized caulk .
Hello Mike: I think I remember reading somewhere on this site that you shouldn't use silicone on fiberglass. Have you used it successfully?
Old 08-19-2015, 09:02 AM   #4

Name: Steve
Trailer: Boler
British Columbia
Proflex works good can get it from most rv places