Trillium Hinge Source Rediscovered - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-30-2011, 03:19 PM   #1
Raz

Trailer: Trillium 2010
Trillium Hinge Source Rediscovered

A while back it was reported that McMaster Carr was no longer carrying the 3/8" offset hinge used on the Trillium trailer. A perusal of the web site appears to confirm this. However, things are not as they seem. I have an old McMaster Carr catalog I obtained years ago when I was much more important than I am now (they are hard to get). In it are listed the complete line of Kason 139 hinges including the one used on the Trillium. It turns out that if you punch in the number for that hinge it shows up as available in 2 weeks. I ordered 2 as spares. Sure enough one arrived in two weeks, the second a month later. it appears they had one in stock and I can only assumed they either ordered more or special ordered the second one. In either case, they are available for about $52 each + shipping. The McMaster Carr part number is 1276A52.

The hinge is made of cast zinc with chrome plating. The pin is stainless steel. In order to use the hinge on a Trillium, the head of the pin must be installed up otherwise is could fall out. One of the two hinges they sent required the pin be reversed. That is, the pin needed to be driven out and reinserted from the other direction. It turns out the pin is held in by splines near the head. I used a small dowel to drive the pin out. A vise with two pieces of wood to protect the finish makes reinsertion easier. Raz

McMaster-Carr
Attached Thumbnails
hinge1.jpg   hinge2.jpg  

hinge3.jpg  
Raz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 03:31 PM   #2

Trailer: 1988 16 ft Scamp Deluxe
Terrific Raz, thanks for the follow-up. I'm betting this info is going to be very help to other owners of Trilliums
Donna D. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 09:28 PM   #3