Two questions: How to remove heavy duty glue from fiberglass and how to fill holes - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Maintenance | Restoration | Modifications | Problem Solving > Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 07-03-2022, 09:37 AM   #1

Name: Kay
Trailer: 1985 Burro
Maine
Two questions: How to remove heavy duty glue from fiberglass and how to fill holes

Hey everyone! This is my first post here and it sure won't be my last. I just bought a 1985 13ft. Burro camper. It's my first project and will be a lot of research, and learning for me.

The interior of the camper is in pretty rough shape so I'm currently in the gutting and cleaning process.

Two questions!:

1) The previous owner had glued... GLUED wood boards around the storage openings for decor. Ive pulled the wood off but I can't scrape the glue and wood particles off. I've used nearly an entire bottle of glue gone.

Do you have any recommendations on what I can use or do to remove this?

2) Secondly, I removed a shower that had been installed inside the trailer. What is the best (or not too difficult and pretty stable) way to fill in this hole where the drain was?

Thank you!
-kay
Kblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2022, 03:27 PM   #2

Name: Terry
Trailer: 1971 Hunter compact Jr, 1979 Terry 19', 2003 Scamp 16'
California
I would try a multi-tool (oscillating head). I have 2 cheap ones from Harbor Freight. There are an assortment of blades. I've used them. To remove stubborn vinyl flooring, tile grout and many other things.
Terry in Fowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2022, 04:45 PM   #3

Trailer: Escape 17 ft Plan B
Registry
Depending on the type of glue, heat might help. Careful use of a heat shrink gun...
Jon Vermilye is offline   Reply With Quote