Want to improve my table in Trillium 1300 - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-11-2009, 12:49 PM   #1

Trailer: Trillium 13 ft
Hello All
I am new to these trailers but I bought a 1975 Trillium 1300 (we nicknamed it THE GREEN MACHINE).
We want to cover the brown 1975 veneer covered dinette table. I don't want to make a whole new table so I was thinking of putting a layer of Arborite of my choice on top of the old surface with contact cement. It should be easy but I am not sure what to do about the edging. Are there any ideas out there? I just want to give it that "finished" look.
Any help would be greatly appreciated (or photos)

thanks

Darren Pettis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 01:25 PM   #2

Trailer: 73 Boler
Quote:
Hello All
I am new to these trailers but I bought a 1975 Trillium 1300 (we nicknamed it THE GREEN MACHINE).
We want to cover the brown 1975 veneer covered dinette table. I don't want to make a whole new table so I was thinking of putting a layer of Arborite of my choice on top of the old surface with contact cement. It should be easy but I am not sure what to do about the edging. Are there any ideas out there? I just want to give it that "finished" look.
Any help would be greatly appreciated (or photos)

thanks
Hi Darren
I have recovered all my counter tops at home so the procedure will be the same. Sand, sand ,sand the old arborite so you will get a good bond and use contact cement to glue it down. As fpr edge trim i bought iron on wood veneer and stained it to suit.
Hope this helps.
Ken
K Slade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 01:40 PM   #3

Thanks for your reply. I can sand it down but I have no idea how to cut arborite.
Also I do not know what iron on veneer is (?). I also have never stained anything before. Is there something else? I see some tables have metal or white plastic edging.