water pump issue? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-15-2011, 02:43 PM   #1

Name: William
Trailer: Scamp
Lakeville, CT
water pump issue?

Just replaced the water heater tank in my new to me '88 Scamp 16. Put a couple of gallons in the freshwater tank opened the faucets and turned on the pump. The usual sputtering has been going on for what seems to me too long. Maybe 20 min or a half an hour. Does the hot water tank need to fill all the way before i get water? Pump sounds ok but I'm not too experienced with them.

Thoughts?

Thanks,
Bill
biw314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 03:47 PM   #2

Trailer: 2004 13 ft Scamp Custom Deluxe
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by biw314 View Post
Just replaced the water heater tank in my new to me '88 Scamp 16. Put a couple of gallons in the freshwater tank opened the faucets and turned on the pump. The usual sputtering has been going on for what seems to me too long. Maybe 20 min or a half an hour. Does the hot water tank need to fill all the way before i get water? Pump sounds ok but I'm not too experienced with them.

Thoughts?

Thanks,
Bill
Yes it does, unless the hot water tank inlet valve is shut.
The water heater works (for water flow) just like the one in the house.
water pressure from the fresh water pump [or the shore hose], pushes water through the tank and up to the faucet, replenishing the tank in the process.
Three points...
1] you could save some pump time by using the shore hose to fill the hot water.
2] don't ever service the freshwater pump without closing the inlet valve on the hotwater tank or draining the tank. [there is a danger of scalding and/or spillage inside the trailer]
3] always drain the freshwater tank and disconnect the shore hose when servicing the fresh water pump.
floyd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 04:08 PM   #3

Lakeville, CT