What to use to repair fiberglass roof - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-15-2020, 04:10 PM   #1

Name: Roxanne
Trailer: Ventura 1974
Manitoba
What to use to repair fiberglass roof

I need some help on what to exactly use to repair my Ventura roof. There are some minor surface cracks in the gel coat and the previous owner had some type of film over the entire roof, that I scraped off because it was peeling.

Amazon.ca has Liquid Rubber RV Roof Coating Sealant, or is there another brand that would be better?

I am completely new with doing some repairs.

Thank you
Click image for larger version

Name:	Roof Film.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	304.8 KB
ID:	136784
Click image for larger version

Name:	Roof Film 2.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	262.7 KB
ID:	136785
Rox24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2020, 04:46 PM   #2

Name: John
Trailer: 1979 Boler 1700
Michigan
Registry
Normal maintenance for gelcoat is to clean, polish and wax at least annually. If and when the gelcoat has worn to the point that it no longer protects the underlying fiberglass structure, the solution is to apply a new layer of gelcoat or marine paint.
John in Michigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2020, 08:01 PM   #3

Name: Roxanne
Trailer: Ventura 1974
Manitoba
So I don't need to reseal the roof? Just wax it? What kind of wax?
Rox24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2020, 09:34 PM   #4

Michigan
Registry
I have not waxed my current project (Boler 17). It has paint over the gelcoat. Although I have washed it a few times.

Apparently its best to use a good boat wax. I have read many opinions on this forum regarding best wax to use. Try searching using the search button at the top of this page, specifically the google search box.
Old 08-16-2020, 07:16 AM   #5

Michigan
Registry
EDIT: Posted the following after looking at your pictures more closely.