1986 Boler Roof Sag - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-09-2017, 08:49 AM   #1

Name: Greg
Trailer: 1986 Boler 1300
New Brunswick
1986 Boler Roof Sag

Hello, I have been following this group for a while and recently purchased a 1986 Boler 13ft. I noticed the roof is sagging around the vent and wondering if anyone can direct me in the right direction? Trying to not loose the original head room but want it to be solid. The roof can easily be pushed back into form but will not stay to the original shape. There are no cracks in the fiberglass. I attached pictures to show the problem.
Attached Thumbnails
20171009_120312.jpg   20171009_120314.jpg  

20171009_120321.jpg  
smyth26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 08:14 AM   #2

Name: Rob
Trailer: Boler
Ontario
Roof Sag

I'm new to fixing fiberglass, but this issue needs to be addressed. I would guess the paint is hiding the cracks. If this was my trailer I would carefully pull down the inside cover and inspect for cracks. If there are some there or not this roof still has to be strengthened. I'm sure you will get a lot of more valuable advice from this site, but if it were me, I would consider fiberglassing a thin piece of plywood all around the vent on the inside of the trailer, as far over as to where the roof starts to dip down. My boler has a raised portion to the roof and I'm sure yours must have one too. I just can't see it from your photo. Good luck on this project. I'll be watching closely what is suggested because I'm sure my 1973 boler will need this fix someday.
Phoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 12:11 PM   #3

Name: Gordon
Trailer: Trillium
British Columbia
My Trillium had significant roof sag around its vent and in the area toward the rear. About 3/4" IIRC.