advice for installing a shelf - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-10-2007, 03:55 PM   #1

Trailer: Scamp 13 ft
Send a message via Yahoo to Candi Woods
Although I find that I'm pretty handy with a drill and hammer, I'm reluctant to the possible damage I might do to my new scamp 13 by putting in open shelves above the dinette area.
We will be going for a week long trip to colorado this summer and I really need some extra storage, though. I have found some helpful pictures on various threads but what I'm looking for is specific advice on how to attach the shelves to the wall. What kinds of screws or should I use rivets, etc.? I've even thought of some kind of industrial velcro (don't laugh, it's been done) This is my first time adding anything to the scamp and I don't want to make a mistake.

Anybody have any ideas and pictures to go with it?

Candi
Candi Woods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 04:44 PM   #2

Trailer: 19 ft Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel Dlx / 2001 Ford Ranger 4x4

Name:   scamp004.jpg
Views: 461
Size:  18.1 KB
this isnt a very close up pic.. but when I got my 16ft Scamp the person had put in a back shelf.. by attaching 2 L brackets to the cabinates that was already in the back... i think it was a 1x6 board which he had 'put a nice finish on.. You could also put a 'captains rail on it to keep things from falling off on both sides. depending on what you are going to use the shelves for??? I used mine for my clock, paperback books and small items..
Christi V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 05:32 PM   #3

That's a great idea, but I don't have any shelves up at all so I need to go all the way through the wall to support the shelf. Unless anyone has an idea what I should do otherwise. Nice pics, it seems like there's still plenty of headroom, also.

Candi
Old 03-10-2007, 06:03 PM   #4

Trailer: 1988 16 ft Scamp Deluxe