Alternative Toilets - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-31-2016, 07:29 PM   #1

Name: Betsy
Trailer: dreaming. . .
Illinois
Alternative Toilets

Hi,

I just watched a video promoting composting toilets in RV's. It had me intrigued with the proported benefits though not fully convinced.

Has anyone here had any experience with a fully composting toilet? Has anyone tried to install one in a Fiberglass molded trailer? Can the toilets in Escapes even be exchanged out for a different type of toilet?

Just curious. . .

Betsy
RosaK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2016, 10:14 PM   #2

Name: Lyle
Trailer: Scamp 16, previously Scamp 13
None
I have some basic experience with a composting toilet, but not full-time use. I am almost certainly going to get one for my Scamp to replace the SaniPotti that it now has. I have a privacy room, but no bathroom plumbing, so mine will be a very easy install.

I am probably going to use the C-head. Bex (she is a member of this forum) installed one in her Casita, and as far as I know she is happy with it. Here is her video about the install and use:

LyleB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2016, 11:18 AM   #3

Name: Kelly
Trailer: Trails West
Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by RosaK View Post
Hi,

I just watched a video promoting composting toilets in RV's. It had me intrigued with the proported benefits though not fully convinced.

Has anyone here had any experience with a fully composting toilet? Has anyone tried to install one in a Fiberglass molded trailer? Can the toilets in Escapes even be exchanged out for a different type of toilet?

Just curious. . .

Betsy
You won't actually be actively be doing any significant amount of real composting as you won't have the waste in their long enough for it to turn into compost. That takes months of time to happen.