Bargman L400 Door Lock - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-10-2020, 09:59 AM   #1

Name: Alex
Trailer: Boler 1700
BC
Bargman L400 Door Lock

Hi Everyone,

Been reading a lot of the forums on the L400 which is the lock I have on my 1978 Boler. Mine is missing the lock cylinder and I, of course, cant seem to find a replacement part. Does anyone know where to get one? I'm new to this, so maybe I'm missing something.

On the flip side, if I end up completely replacing my L400 for a different lock (I have one from camping treasures that I could install), should I sell my old L400 for parts? Is there still a need for them?
Alyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 10:32 AM   #2

Name: Alexander
Trailer: 1979 Boler B1300
New Hampshire
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alyx View Post
should I sell my old L400 for parts? Is there still a need for them?
Absolutely! They go for some fairly high prices even if they aren't in the best shape. Do a search of E-bay and select Sold Items to get an idea of what they have been going for.
Alex Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 10:56 AM   #3

Name: bill
Trailer: 2013 Escape 19
The Mountains of North Carolina
Registry
The L400 has a somewhat unique shape, will your replacement fit without cutting up the door and patching?

L400s both working and not working sell routinely on ebay. Asking prices are not a good guide, as there is always someone asking a sky high price hoping to get it. Sold prices are a much better guide.

They do sell at a substantial price, as this same lock was used on many vintage trailers, including Airstreams. So demand exceeds supply. I picked up one in nice condition on ebay as the seller had a lower buy it now price. If you see one at a nice (lower price), don't sit back and watch it, BUY IT!