Composting Toilet for Casita Spirit Deluxe - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-15-2020, 11:08 AM   #1

Name: Bob
Trailer: Casita - 2019 SD17
Idaho
Composting Toilet for Casita Spirit Deluxe

I purchased a 2019 Casita 17 ft Spirit Deluxe. It is still very new and unused.

I would like to replace the factory installed toilet (never used) with a Nature's Head Composting Toilet.

A few questions:

Has anyone done this? (Yes, I know, stupid question, but I am very new at this)

I am open to suggestions, comments, recommendations, criticisms, etc.

I have not used either the black water or grey water tanks as I did not want to contaminate them until I settled on which modifications I would make to the trailer.

In my reading and viewing of YouTube videos, while it is probably a good idea to have the exhaust fan on the Nature's Head functional, some individuals indicated that the fan was not absolutely necessary.

I don't know, but I believe the fan will operate off of the 12 volt system. If I install the toilet and fan, would it be prudent to put an OFF/ON switch on the fan to preclude running the trailer battery down?

When possible, I will be using solar to keep the battery charged.
Bob Penn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2020, 12:07 PM   #2

Name: Steve
Trailer: 2018, 21ft escape— 2019 Ram 1500 Laramie
NW Wisconsin
It’s your trailer so you are certainly entitled to make modifications as you see fit
If your asking for the opinion of others ?, I would leave well enough alone !
If I am going to make major changes to my trailer and especially with a new trailer then there has to be some sort of realistic , positive benefit from the change / modification and in this case I just don’t see any .
steve dunham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2020, 12:45 PM   #3

Trailer: Escape 17 ft