Crack "Through and Through" Hatchway - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-08-2014, 12:54 PM   #1

Name: Jimmy
Trailer: 1981 Scamp 13'
Alabama
Crack "Through and Through" Hatchway

Hi Folks!
I am a newbie to the F/G camper world.
I just purchased a 1981 Scamp 13 a couple of weeks ago and as soon as the "Blizzard of 2014" scoots up towards the Artic again I will begin work.
Of course living in Mobile,Al. we don't get this kind of weather very often and quite frankly I find it sorta invigorating, but only for a day or so...lol.
I am just trying to get a handle on how to address the issue of repairing the 7" cracked fiberglass above the hatchway. I am thinking that I should use "woven roving" to do the job but at this time I am a little hesitant. Is there anyone in this forum that may have had or know of someone who had a similar problem. Any suggestions will be appreciated
Attached Thumbnails
1981 Scamp13 008.jpg  
Mr Jimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 01:10 PM   #2

Name: Steve
Trailer: Scamp 13
California
First place I would look at is the floor support for the hinge side of the door opening. it looks like the door opening is sprung too wide. Getting the shell pulled back in place is where you start. Once you get the shell back in place the gaps should close up. Then I would clean the inside down to clean fiberglass and use your woven roving and Epoxy making the repair rather large. Maybe a foot or so. Then I would grind and feather the out side and lay down some lighter 6 to 9 oz fabric. Then grind this up to reshape and then do minor fill work with autobody filler. Then its on to gelcoat or paint.
stevebaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 01:41 PM   #3

Alabama
Crack "Through and Through" Hatchway

Thanks Steve!
Do you think I should "Work" both sides of crack or will the outside be sufficient?
Attached Thumbnails