Custom made Innerspring Mattress Thickness on Casita SD - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-26-2023, 01:42 PM   #1

Name: Bob
Trailer: Casita
Missouri
Custom made Innerspring Mattress Thickness on Casita SD

Hello, once again!
I want to get a full time mattress for the bed in the rear of my Casita Spirit Deluxe. I searched for a few months, and really haven't come up with what I want. I've been RVing for over 40 years and have tried every foam mattress under the sun and either find them too soft, too hard, or, more commonly, too hot.

I want an innerspring "firm" mattress. I' ve spent hours on the forums and for the most part, only find foam mattresses from Perfect Casita or Southern Mattress mentioned. There is one guy on this forum who is quite active here from the American Southwest (name is escaping me right now, but thanks all the same! He has an Escape with a F250 Diesel "tug"), who suggested finding a local mattress company and asking them to custom make a mattress. Another fine gentleman posted drawings of said mattress, thank you very much again!

In my search I found a customer maker in the southeast who specializes in Innerspring custom mattresses and can add coils to obtain a very firm mattress. Price is similar to the memory foam ones others on this forum bought. They have been great communicators and I'm ready to buy.

With one more question to be answered. Do I want 7" thick for $499 delivered, or 9" thick for $599. These both will sport the vacuum packed bed in a box scenario and the manager at the manufacturer assures me both thicknesses will go through the door of the Casita. I figure that ever getting it OUT of the trailer if needed would require some work.