Exterior Body Repairs - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-25-2012, 10:03 AM   #1

Name: Jim
Trailer: Bigfoot 1981 Trailer
British Columbia
Smile Exterior Body Repairs

I have searched through threads but cannot come up with an answer. I am a newbie, so will be asking a lot of questions. I will be doing some body work on my Bigfoot and want to patch up a few holes which are not large, so will not be using fiberglass. Should I just use bondo? I was told that I could use epoxy as well. Comments, please, Thanks, Jim
jimmied is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 10:29 AM   #2

Trailer: Lite House
Registry
Why not epoxy? West System makes a cheap kit that is perfect for repairing small holes. It includes a small amount of resin and hardener, some fairing powder and a spreader. The little plastic case it comes in doubles as a mixing container. You can find it on Amazon or at a West Marine (similar name; different company) retail outl et.
Davie B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 10:32 AM   #3

Trailer: Fiber Stream 1978 / Honda Odyssey LX 2003
Registry
Send a message via AIM to Frederick L. Simson
A lot is going to depend on what size the holes are. I will be using Bondo to fill old screw holes in my Compact Jr. rebuild. I'd use an epoxy kit for larger repairs, like blanking out a water fill port or furnace exhaust.
Old 09-25-2012, 11:53 AM   #4

Trailer: Lite House
Registry
Here's a link to the West System repair kits. The 105 kit is about $30 from Amazon. The epoxy comes in packets so there is little waste. Epoxy is a stronger repair media than bondo.

http://www.westsystem.com/ss/repair-kits/
Davie B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 11:57 AM   #5
Raz

Trailer: Trillium 2010