Fiberglass Repair Suggestions - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-24-2015, 02:31 PM   #1

Name: Bryan
Trailer: In the market
California
Fiberglass Repair Suggestions

Hi guys, I have a question about a hinge that is breaking out from the fiberglass from fatigue and age. It looks like the metal hinge is just molded into the fiberglass and now it needs some more support.

I was thinking about just filling it up with epoxy (between the existing fiberglass and the metal hinge), but thought someone might recommend to strengthen it more by adding some fiberglass in there or maybe its a bad idea, but I dont know. Im new to fiberglass.
Attached Thumbnails
Photo May 23, 4 43 43 PM.jpg  
bhollehday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 03:57 PM   #2

Trailer: 13 ft Boler
Registry
I , like others would be happy to offer suggestions but I/we need a little more input.
The picture you posted is great but more angles are necessary in order to
get a better idea what your up against.
Fred
FRED SMAILES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 04:17 PM   #3

California
Quote:
Originally Posted by FRED SMAILES View Post
I , like others would be happy to offer suggestions but I/we need a little more input.
The picture you posted is great but more angles are necessary in order to
get a better idea what your up against.
Fred
Hope this helps.

Its solid enough to hold the weight, but its just a little fragile and just needs some extra support. Im not going to add brackets or bolts, I think that an epoxy/glue/fiberglass will do the job just fine, just need some incite on what would be the strongest method.
Attached Thumbnails
Photo May 24, 3 13 03 PM.jpg   Photo May 24, 3 12 52 PM.jpg  

Photo May 24, 3 12 45 PM.jpg  
Old 05-25-2015, 01:49 PM   #4

Name: Gardnpondr
Trailer: 1985 BigFoot G
Mississippi
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhollehday View Post