Get rid of my water tank: Yea or Nay? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-05-2020, 10:55 PM   #1

Name: Corey
Trailer: Casita
WA
Get rid of my water tank: Yea or Nay?

Hi Everyone,

I'm in the process of doing a refresh on my 1992 Casita Patriot Standard and am trying to decide if I want to replace the water tank under the dinette or just turn it into more storage.

I don't plan on doing any boondocking, but I assumed they put this thing in here for a reason so...

Click image for larger version

Name:	Old water tank4.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	279.5 KB
ID:	134411

It looks pretty janky, so if I do replace it I'll do new tank, lines, drip pan, fill port, etc.

I'm totally new to the world of these campers and would love to get everyone's thoughts.

Thanks!
HeavyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2020, 04:19 AM   #2

Trailer: Boler
Registry
We boondock a lot so fresh water tank is mandatory. We also carry extra water. I wouldn't worry about the condition of that tank just clean it out and use it. We don't drink out of the onboard water we carry separate drinking water. I actually had to fill the trailer tank once from a lake we were parked beside so we could shower.
Doug Arthurs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2020, 04:48 AM   #3
Raz

Trailer: Trillium 2010
I've never liked the idea of the water tank sitting on the wood floor. To make matters worse there's often a hole through the floor to empty the tank. An easy formula for floor rot. Of course if you are not going to use it, there is no leak problem. Leaving it gives the next owner the option. If you need the storage, take it out , seal any holes and keep the tank for the next guy.
Raz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2020, 07:32 AM   #4

Name: JD
Trailer: Scamp 16 Modified (BIGLY)
Florida