How big of a hole can be cut? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-29-2020, 11:51 AM   #1

Name: Tyler
Trailer: In the market
Alberta
How big of a hole can be cut?

Hello,

I'm just getting into the idea of this fiberglass RV lifestyle. I don't even own one yet. Just weighing my options.

I would want to eliminate the indoor kitchen and have it outside instead.

Could a person cut a hole in the side fiberglass large enough to have a outdoor kitchen slide out? In my head it would be something that would slide out of the storage under the bench in the front.

Has anyone done/seen this? Is it even possible?
TylerC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2020, 12:07 PM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
I wouldn’t recommend it, especially in the front. You don’t have much space to work with under the bench, and the front door side is the weakest part of most small molded trailers. Seems a shame to cut any more openings in the shell.

I’d personally suggest a simpler route. Put your outside kitchen stuff in a large tote and slide it in the door. Pull it out when you get to camp.

We do all our cooking outside, but I still like having the inside kitchen just in case. We would only do light cooking inside if weather made outside cooking impractical. More often we cook outside and bring the food inside to eat if it’s cold, windy, and/or wet.

For short overnights we fuel the stove with disposable cylinders, but for multi-day stays we remove the LP tank from the Scamp. Eventually I’d like to switch to 2@11# cylinders so one can stay attached to the Scamp for the furnace.

There is a molded trailer- the Genesis 912- with a rear outside kitchen like a teardrop but with stand-up headroom. Found an old ad with some pictures: https://www.fiberglass-rv-4sale.com/...700-phoenix-az
Jon in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote