ice box to actual fridge conversation. possible? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-03-2015, 10:27 PM   #1

Name: jaime
Trailer: in the market
Texas
ice box to actual fridge conversation. possible?

Hello,
I am new to the fiberglass camper world and am trying to take in all the knowledge I can before diving in. BUT it also seems that I can educate myself for many months/years or I can dive in and start having fun on the road with my family. It appears the 13' are fairly sought after and ya have to be quick on the draw to buy or you'll lose out on the purchase. Looking at a 13' 1996 Casita, new tires, sound shell, new battery, new ceiling vent/fan, no evidence of leaks. My question is that it has an ice box and not a refrigerator which I was hoping to have an actual small refrigerator in the camper. Is this impossible to swap for an actual fridge? if so, any thoughts on cost to do this? Thanks a bunch, jj
jaimejo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 11:02 PM   #2

Name: John
Trailer: '71 Boler, '87 Play-Mor II
Deep South
No it is not impossible to swap out, but if you are looking for one that will run on propane they are pricey for the units themselves and the back of the unit must be vented to the outside of the trailer. If you are new to LP refrigerators I suggest having a professional install it, you might try Camping World. Now if you are talking about a 12v or 110 refrigerator and no propane you should be able to handle that yourself if you have general handyman skills...we went with a 110v Emerson 1.7 cu ft model to run off an inverter and (2) 6 volt batteries or standard 110 when we have hookups available...
Johnny M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 04:27 PM   #3

Name: Adam
Trailer: Boler
Alberta