Is It Possible to Add a Front Cabinet to Scamp 13? How? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-11-2013, 08:04 PM   #1

Name: Wendy Lee
Trailer: Scamp 13' Standard
New York
Registry
Is It Possible to Add a Front Cabinet to Scamp 13? How?

Hi Everybody,
I recently purchased a 13er with side cabinets over the dinette. I have the sofa/bunkbed in the front but would really like to install the overhead cabinet that Scamp sells for above. I am imagining a nightmare of taking off the "rat fur" and all of this kind of thing, but is it easier than I expect? Not even advisable? I see Scamp sells it, but maybe only to replace for those that have been damaged, yet already were in the trailer?
I would appreciate the insight of anybody with experience with this, as I'm a newb with lots of ideas, but no prior knowledge. Thank you very much!

Sincerely,
CampyTime (Wendy)
CampyTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 08:30 PM   #2

Name: Norm and Ginny
Trailer: Scamp 16
Florida
The Marine carpet does not have to come off to install an overhead cabinets.

2014 Honda Odyssey
1991 Scamp 16
honda03842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 09:02 PM   #3

Trailer: U-Haul VT16
Wendy Lee, you well have to cut out small pieces of carpet and glue in wood blocks. The cabinet will mount to the blocks. That wasn't so hard was it?
mszabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 09:17 PM   #4

Name: Norm and Ginny
Trailer: Scamp 16
Florida
I 've done it two ways. Supporting it off the top of the front window and side cabinet and using the more standard thru shell rivets.

In our Scamp we have shelves and cabinets off the rear Window and side windows as well as over the door.

See Modifications /Preparing a 1991 Scamp for some examples.

2014 Honda Odyssey
1991 Scamp 16
honda03842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 10:00 PM   #5