Kayak Rack on Trillium without drilling - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-04-2020, 12:17 PM   #1

Name: steve
Trailer: Trillium)
Vancouver, BC
Kayak Rack on Trillium without drilling

I am hoping that someone else has already solved this.....
I have a 73 Trillium and want to travel with my 17' kayaks on top, I am not an expert in Fiberglas, however, am hoping that I can "glass" a band across the front and the back to "attach" hardware" to cradle my boats without drilling through the top.

additional thoughts:

-I have some roof Sagging so I am hoping that I can "lift" the Sag as part of this modification.
-I cannot carry the kayaks on my tow Vehicle as I do not have a roof ('77 Scout)
- I Distance kayak in the open ocean so Folding or Blowup Kayaks will not suffice...

Any thoughts or solutions?

Thnks!!
t096772 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 12:47 PM   #2

Trailer: Escape 17 ft
How are you going to get your boats to the put-in, take-out? Do you drag the trailer to the shore, unload, to campsite, set up? How old are you? What physical shape? I'd get a new tow vehicle myself.
Old 07-04-2020, 01:35 PM   #3

Vancouver, BC
Thanks for responding,

I am in my 50s and have no problem carrying my 50LB boats to the water, My put ins on the British Columbia coast are not usually "vehicle access" anyways. As for my TV, Driving my topless Scout is a significant part of my travelling enjoyment........

A solution for this should not be complicated as long as there is a way to structurally re-enforce and attach to my Trillium Roof.......

Total weight of my kayaks and a rack would be less than 150 lbs.

so, looking for a Fiberglassing solution pleeease!
Old 07-05-2020, 10:17 AM   #4

Trailer: Bigfoot
SeaSucker, mounts with suction cups.
Robert Stephan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 10:24 AM   #5

Name: Bob
Trailer: Scamp