Marine Headliner - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-27-2021, 05:39 PM   #1
dgb

Name: Doreen
Trailer: Cadet n126d
Tennessee
Registry
Question Marine Headliner

If I use marine headliner, do I need to sand the walls and clean them first? There's bits of old dry rotted foam on the walls and ceiling.
Also, do I need to put something behind the marine headliner?

I'm a total newbie, so please help me!
I have videos showing the camper, on my YouTube channel. www.YouTube.com/c/CampingTherapy
It's a 1987 Cadet.

Click image for larger version

Name:	thumbnail (6).jpg
Views:	9
Size:	139.8 KB
ID:	140026

Click image for larger version

Name:	thumbnail (7).jpg
Views:	10
Size:	103.4 KB
ID:	140027
dgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2021, 12:07 AM   #2

Trailer: No Trailer Yet (want 13 ft fiber glass
Registry
Doreen, the headliner will show any imperfections of what is under it, plus not much of an insulating factor. Reflectix is an aluminized bubble wrap type insulation that should be glued to the the interior first (no need to get all the old glue off, just anything loose) with all the seams covered with aluminum duct tape, then the headliner. I have heard that Scamp uses two layers of reflextix under the headliner. I have found that using a dry paint roller to affix the headliner to the reflectix works better than using hands, as hands tend to stretch the ply able liner which results in wrinkles. Best of luck with your project. There is another type of marine headliner that is smooth vinyl, backed with foam rubber, so reflectix wouldn’t be needed as the foam is the insulating factor.
Dave and Paula
David B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2021, 08:14 AM   #3

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by David B. View Post