mounting running lights with only butyl tape - Fiberglass RV

Old 04-04-2018, 12:28 PM   #1

Name: Nolan
Trailer: Boler 13ft 1972
British Columbia
mounting running lights with only butyl tape

HI

I have found some running lights for my trailer that are different in shape from the originals. And I don't want to drill more holes to mount these.

My thoughts are that these are light, aerodynamic, and non-load bearing so it would be okay to mount these using butyl tape only, and not screws or bolts. In the event that something does work loose, they are still connected by the wires, but the butyl tape is really sticky and I'll be sure to clean both surfaces carefully to have a strong bond.

Anyone had experience with this who wants to warn me about something I haven't thought about? I've never worked with butyl tape before, so this is just my common-sense speculation.
Attached Thumbnails
running lights.PNG  

nolan krombein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 01:52 PM   #2

Name: Steve
Trailer: 1979 Boler1700
Maple Ridge, B.C.
Registry
I wouldn't do it. I would rather seal the old holes and then drill new ones. You could use one of the old holes and only have to seal and redrill one per light.

ststefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 02:13 PM   #3

British Columbia
ststefan, whats your thinking behind that?
Old 04-04-2018, 02:55 PM   #4

Name: Gordon
Trailer: 2015 Scamp (16 Std Layout 4) with '15 Toyota Sienna LE Tug
North Carolina
Butyl tape wont hold.

3M VHB tape probably will hold, if you can get enough surface area to match up and do proper prep, and use the proper type of VHB.

If the new fixture is larger than than the old one, use one of the holes for a mechanical mount (screw or bolt) and VHB tape on the other end that covers the second hole .