My Solar Install - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-15-2014, 01:01 PM   #1

Name: Conrad
Trailer: Bigfoot 3000 & Barth "slide-in" truck camper
Connecticut
My Solar Install

I'll start by stating, my background is electrical engineering. I also served in the Air Force and believe in over-kill rather than be caught short.

I just finished designing and installing a solar system in my pickup camper. My goal was to generate enough power for full-time winter use without using tilting panels. I feel it will work for several days with overcast conditions. In winter I would be fighting low angles of solar incidence, limited sunshine, and higher energy demands. I considered tilting panels however many of these mechanisms cost nearly as much as buying additional panels. The projected increase with tilt was 30%. Adding two more panels would increase my energy input 50%...a better deal with the benefit of more power all the time. Tilting panels are a nuisance. They run the risk of forgetting to lower them and damaging from tree limbs.

I plan to boondock almost exclusively. So, reliable power is important to me. I will be living in my camper extensively during the next year as I complete a yacht restoration project. This extra power provides me all the comforts I need.

Physical Constraints: My battery compartment holds one 165 lb 225 A-H 8D gel cell battery. I have space in the generator compartment for one or two more if weight was not a factor. One is fine. Perhaps in the winter I might need another battery if I were in the cold north. My plan is to use the generator space to store an outdoor propane grill.