Newbie's Flooring Project - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-30-2008, 09:57 AM   #1

Trailer: 2002 13 ft Scamp
Hi, all-

I've been reading through a lot of these posts and I'm very inspired. I just bought my first Scamp (2002 13 foot) about two months ago and I've slowly been making some modifications, to make it exactly what I want, and that's been a lot of fun. I've painted the cabinets white, put shelves in the closet, and I have plans to build a drawer under the bed as well as take out the front couch and build a front dinette, but that will probably be next spring.

I'm hoping I can take care of my flooring project before I have to put my Scamp into storage for the winter, but the challenge is that while I have some carpentry experience, I'm at a loss about how to start replacing the carpet with vinyl (or whatever material I choose...probably vinyl...but I'm open to other suggestions). I've never done anything like this and I'm a bit nervous. The posts I've read offer great inspiration, but I'm in need of a bit more How To. I'm hoping that some of you who have completed this project could give me some pointers about how to start, the materials I'll need, any problems that you ran into yourselves and how you fixed them. Thanks!

Karen
Karen B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 10:27 AM   #2

Trailer: 1976 Trillium 13 ft
Hi Karen,

Myself and other forum members have installed Traffic Master Allure in our trailers. It's basically like linoleum planks. Here are a couple threads on it:

http://www.fiberglassrv.com/board/index.ph...1&hl=allure

http://www.fiberglassrv.com/board/index.ph...7&hl=allure
Booker B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 11:08 AM   #3

Trailer: Compact Jr
Registry
I would agree. It is very easy to work with, water will not damage it and looks good. We got our floor at Home Depot