Power Inverters?? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-14-2011, 03:57 PM   #1

Name: jason
Trailer: 13' Scamp "pending"
Minnesota
Power Inverters??

Just looking for some advice on getting a dc to ac inverter, i took the fridge and heater out and just left the burner and sink in, and now am looking to expand my options here, we're gonna put in a microwave now, is there a inverter that will allow for that or is that really just a a/c thing? and what size would i look for to allow for maybe a little dvd player a few phone chargers etc.... im a newbie to the Scamp world just got a 13' and worked on it the last few days, ill post pics later, any advice would be great
81scamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 04:34 PM   #2

Name: Greg
Trailer: 72 Boler American
Indiana
Microwaves don't even like to run on generators, so it wont do much on an inverter, it will work but only for very short periods because it will really zap the battery. As for the dvd and phone chargers they will work on a small inverter, but phone chargers and dvd players and many other things are all available in 12volt, go to a truckstop and they usually have a complete aisle just for 12 volt stuff.
Greg H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 04:51 PM   #3

Name: Norm and Ginny
Trailer: Scamp 16
Florida
Inverters

We have two different size Inverters.

We have a 1200 watt Inverter that we bought at a Black and Decker outlet store for $59.

We don't carry a microwave. Though we've never run a microwave off of it, I suspect it could run a small, 700 watt microwave. We have used it to run just about everything else including an 4 cubic foot AC Fridge.