Refrigerator Replacement Options - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-16-2022, 06:54 PM   #1

Name: Bridget
Trailer: Scamp
Maryland
Refrigerator Replacement Options

My first RV was a 2001 Lance Truck Camper which I bought in 2015. I was a complete newbie and didn't know what I didn't know.

Now I have a 2018 Scamp '13 with bath.

I love my Scamp, but have been surprised by how the much older truck camper had far more features that made traveling easier.

Basic black and grey tank level readers, battery level reader and, what I miss the most, the refrigerator would automatically switch AC/DC depending on what was available. In addition, manual changing between AC/DC/Gas could be done from inside the camper.

Has anyone discovered a Scamp refrigerator replacement option that would permit controlling the power source from inside?
BridgetMills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2022, 06:10 PM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
The problem is size. A quick search didn’t turn up any other absorption fridge options that fit the same space. The RM2193 in your Scamp is the smallest model Dometic sells, and it doesn't offer automatic controls. Norcold doesn’t appear to make any that small. Maybe I missed something.

It’s a mixed blessing. The convenience is nice, but automatic controls require continuous DC power, so no power (dead battery or other 12V power issue) means no refrigeration. Yours will work on propane without power. It also conserves battery power for other things when you’re off grid.

Another option is a DC compressor fridge. Can’t get any more convenient than that, but you’ll probably need to increase your battery capacity to run one off grid.
Jon in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2022, 08:14 PM   #3

Name: John
Trailer: Scamp 1995 19'
North Carolina
Love my DC compressor fridge