Sanblasting for prep? Newbie here - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-03-2017, 07:45 PM   #1

Name: nicolas
Trailer: Currently Shopping
Quebec
Sanblasting for prep? Newbie here

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie with fiberglass trailer. I am very handy around the house so I decided to buy a trailer and try to fix it.

I bought a Trillium 1300 that has been repainted with marine paint by the previous owner. Obviously, I would like to make it look better so I thought I would repaint it. The paint is in pretty bad shape and I assume I would have to fix some fiberglass here and there.

I would like to know your pieces of advice for preparing the surface.

What's the better tool to use, grit, advice? Did anyone tried sandblasting?
Attached Thumbnails
20170503_185022_resized.jpg   IMG_1351_resized.jpg  

20170503_185026_resized.jpg  
Nicolas Langlois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2017, 02:09 AM   #2

Name: Dave
Trailer: Casita SD17 2006 "Missing Link"
California
You might want to do a site search on paint prepping as there are many posts. Most folks seem to sand but it all depends on the current condition. Sandblasting would be on the same list as silicone as "nevers". There are blasting medias out there that are for delicate work but....500 lbs of it maybe?
Borrego Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2017, 09:50 AM   #3

Name: J Ronald
Trailer: Casita 17 ft. Liberty Deluxe
North Carolina