Trillium Frame Replacement Questions - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-06-2021, 01:50 AM   #1

Name: Mary
Trailer: Trillium
Virginia
Trillium Frame Replacement Questions

I am getting ready to have a new frame fabricated for my 1975 Trillium 1300 and I remember seeing a post with a schematic that someone did for just this purpose - either for a Boler or a Trillium - but, for the life of me, I have searched and searched and can no longer find it.

I'm brand new to all of this and welding is not something I can do, myself, so I need to take it to a shop and to make sure that when I ask them to make this new frame and new axle for me that they don't just replicate the current frame, known flaws and all.

Does anyone remember the thread that I am talking about? If not...what tips can you give me to help me to describe to them what the new frame needs to look like/do?

Thanks in advance for your help!
marylars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2021, 09:42 AM   #2

Name: Cate & Dan
Trailer: 1976 Triple E SurfSide "The Mutt Hut"
Manitoba
This might not be much help but Slim Potatohead has a video on YouTube called Trailer Repairs: Up in the Air when he takes his Trillium Outback to Trillium in Calgary and has his frame replaced.
He shows the frames with the "egg" on and off from a number of angles so you can see in the video how the frames are no longer made with that bend in the front that is notorious for cracking. I even noticed little bumpers on the egg to protect it from sharp edges in that spot. While this is not going to give you any measurements, it will give you something to show your fabricator to better describe what it is you want. Hope that helps a little.
Old Macdonalds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2021, 10:01 AM   #3
Commercial Member

Name: Outback
Trailer: Outback trillium trailer
Alberta
trailer frame