Weight of Fiberglass - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-27-2020, 03:04 PM   #1

Name: Ben
Trailer: Boler '71
Iowa
Weight of Fiberglass

I am looking to repair a 1971 Boler. It has several small cracks but no structural damage.

What type of fiberglass should I get? Seems like chopped strand matt is what is used but what weight would be recommended for something like this?

Is there a putty I should use?

Any other tips?

Is there a buy list or good instructions for something like this? I've watched a lot of youtube videos but something more concrete may help me make sure I don't make any mistakes.

Thank you for any support, I'm new to this world but we are super excited for a summer project. I'll share pics as I make progress with your help.
bstrever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 05:34 PM   #2

Trailer: Trillium 4500
Registry
Are the cracks all the way through the fiberglass or is it just limited to the gel coat?
Old 05-28-2020, 01:47 AM   #3

Name: Kelly
Trailer: Trails West
Oregon
The trailer is not made with chopped mat. It is made by spraying chopped fibers mixed with resin into the mold with a gun. You can use fiberglass cloth for repairs, that is what I did. But I put the reinforcing cloth on the inside of the shell, not on the exterior. There are other methods of dealing with cracks and there exist a very long thread in this forum on making fiberglass repairs.
k corbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2020, 11:43 AM   #4

Name: Nicolas
Trailer: 1978 Boler
Almonte, Ontario
If you are looking for a very handy handbook for doing the repairs on your fibreglass shell, I would recommend visiting West Systems’ website

https://www.westsystem.com/instruction-2/

and in their resources section is a list of online handbooks and the one that I have used over the many years that I have done my fibreglassing is