Eggplant Lasagna Bummer - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-15-2021, 01:52 PM   #1

Name: Henry
Trailer: BigFoot
Tennessee
Eggplant Lasagna Bummer

Just when I think I am a fairly good cook, I fall completely on my face. I found a recipe on line (recipe follows) for Eggplant Lasagna. It said to salt (heavily, my interpretation) the sliced egg plant, both sides, and let rest. Then wipe the salt off and layer in an Instant Pot using (Amazon) Fat Daddio's Round Cheesecake Pan, 7 x 3 Inch, Silver. It came out so salty we could not eat it. Maybe I should have quickly rinsed both sides of the eggplant then dried off with a paper towel.

It also said to mix up a batch of ricotta cheese. The result was the ricotta mixing with the marinara and running out.

I am going to try using lasagna noodles with a layer of ricotta cheese mixture and see if that might work.

Maybe trying to make lasagna in an IP pot is not such a good idea. What could I be doing wrong? I followed the darn recipe, which follows:

Ingredients

2 medium zucchinis,, sliced lengthwise
2 small eggplants,, sliced crosswise
1 tbsp coarse salt, , plus more for seasoning
1 25 oz jar high-quality marinara sauce
1 cup whole-milk ricotta cheese
1 large egg
1/2 cup shredded parmesan
1 package Mozzarella Shreds, (2 cups)
2 tbsp basil fresh, chopped
1/2 cup basil pesto, for topping (optional but recommended)
2 tbsp fresh basil leaves,, chopped

Place the eggplant and zucchini slices on a large cutting board and salt. Allow to sit for 20-30 minutes so they release some water. Wipe the water and salt away with a paper towel.