fulltiming budgets - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-22-2008, 05:25 PM   #1

Trailer: Truck Camper / Dodge Powerwagon
Hi all, I'm currently a full time teacher with plans to be a full time Scamper. I can make $600 per month tutoring on line or even substitute teaching (if I was desperate). There are other money making options as well, but that isn't really the intent of this post. Could I realistically live on $600? I have no debts or need for health insurance.

What does it take you fulltimers to live on per month? What are your major expenses? What unknown expenses seem to crop up every month?

Thanks,

Al
AlBarnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 05:33 PM   #2

Trailer: Scamp
Send a message via Yahoo to Pete Dumbleton
Like other parts of life, it depends more on your needs and what you are willing to tolerate. For example, if you are willing to wander from WalMart to WalMart, your CG $ will be zero, but your fuel will be high. Conversely, if you insist on five-star RV parks with full hookups, your CG $ will be high.

The right schools might find you a place to camp and double as night watchman. If you are going to tutor on line, you will need internet access and perhaps a cell phone.

Camp hosting will save a bunch, but you will be tied down and most places only have seasonal stuf.

I met a guy fulltiming on a bicycle in Nevada, camping in the desert. Fuel and camp fees were zero.
Pete Dumbleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 06:51 PM   #3

Quote:
Like other parts of life, it depends more on your needs and what you are willing to tolerate. For example, if you are willing to wander from WalMart to WalMart, your CG $ will be zero, but your fuel will be high. Conversely, if you insist on five-star RV parks with full hookups, your CG $ will be high.