Braking, Transmission for towing - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-30-2008, 04:04 PM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
Send a message via AIM to Paul Kaplan Send a message via Yahoo to Paul Kaplan
I'm in the process of researching purchasing a 13' Scamp. I own an 06 Saturn vue 4 cyl automatic. The dealer says I should have no problems towing the trailer- I'm still verifying that though.

But the other question that came to mind, do I need to have an electronic breaking system installed on the trailer? What about an transmission coooler? I plan on spending two months driving from coast to coast this summer

Newbie here, and I appreciate the advice!
Paul
Paul Kaplan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 05:07 PM   #2

Trailer: 1976 Trillium 13 ft
The very best advice is what's in your owner's manual. When searching for a Subaru it was clear salesman have no clue what a vehicle can tow, and tow safely.

We just purchased a 2005 subaru forester. It's rated to pull 1000lbs without trailer brakes, 2500lbs with trailer brakes. I have a 1976 13' trillium (fridge, furnace, 1 propane tank, battery) and in general real world weights for these are 1500-1700lbs. This gives me close to a 25% buffer.

This is my 2nd Trillium this year and I bought it specifically because it had the brakes. Just having the controller installed today - a recommended Tekonsha Prodigy model. There are several members with the same car that run without trailer brakes but I won't do it - though I feel I am a safe driver if someone pulled out in front of me and I didn't have those brakes ...

Edit: Something else that has been mentioned in these forums - in the United States if you are in an accident and you are towing beyond your limit you will be liable for the accident. I don't know if it's the same up here in Canada.
Booker B. is offline   Reply With Quote