Chevy S10 - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-20-2003, 10:37 AM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
Chevy S10

Hello people. I'm a newbie in search of towing info. I have a 98' Chevy S10 2.2 ltr I4 5spd regular cab short bed pickup. Now I know that the book shows a 2000lb towing max limit. And the base 13ft Scamp is about 950lbs with the tounge at about 85lbs. I'm sure that when loaded with food, clothing, propane and other misc. stuff it's going to be within the 2000lb max. cap. of the S10. What I don't know is how well is it going to tow the Scamp. Is it going to be dangerously slow and sluggish. I read that I might want to run it in 4th gear, not using 5th except perhaps on flat road.

The question..... Does anyone have any experiance with this configuration of truck and Scamp? Have you seen any on the road or camp sites? This will be my first camper and my first time towing anything with any vehicle.

I few days ago I passed on an 84' Scamp for $2200. Heater(not working) Ice Box(no Frig) and no battery. It looked like a base model with not alot (if any) upgrades.

I'm thinking I want a 3 way frig. I'll do without the optional heater and go with a small ceramic one if needed. Advise on the heater would be well received as well. And I was thinking the solar panal charger for the Bat might be a nice thing also. Also thinking I might want 2 propane tanks. Oh and I see everyone loves the Fantastic Fan option too.

Did I miss anything? Anything else I might want to add or look for.

I want to get one fix it up and go man go.....

Thanks so much for ya'lls help

Legacy Posts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2003, 11:31 AM   #2

hi Andy

Welcome to FGRV . little 13 footers run heavy you are really looking at 1300 plus minus . i pulled my trillium with a rav 4 it got the job done. slow but steady! most the time i was in 4th and 3rd gears