Diesel SUVs for TV - experiences? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-28-2013, 01:03 PM   #1

Trailer: 13 ft Scamp / Silver Ford 150
Diesel SUVs for TV - experiences?

It's time to upgrade the old f150, and its 13 mpg with trailer. I'm looking at Mercedes ML350 or VW Toureg diesels, with 28 est mpg. Anyone out there have experience towing with them? Yes, I know they are expensive, but so is a new truck, and I need something that will do double duty as dressy for work. Thoughts?
barring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 01:09 PM   #2

Trailer: 2009 19 ft Escape / 2009 Honda Pilot
Registry
I have no real knowledge of those two vehicles, just thought I would add the Jeep Grand Cherokee with a diesel option, and the 2014 Dodge 1500 p/u will have the same diesel available too.
“Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.” — Abraham Lincoln
Jim Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 01:19 PM   #3

Name: Norm and Ginny
Trailer: Scamp 16
Florida
There are many fuel efficient options for towing a 13' Scamp. Consider a SUbaru 4 cylinder. comfortable, gets good mileage and has 4 wheel drive.

2014 Honda Odyssey
1991 Scamp 16
honda03842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 02:53 PM   #4

Name: deryk
Trailer: 2012 Parkliner 2010 V6 Nissan Frontier 4x4
New Jersey
Registry
Wow the Toureg has the same size engine as my Rav4 with 7000 lb tow capacity is sweet with 17/23 gas mileage... I'm interested lol

All that is gold does not glitter, Not all those who wander are lost; The old that is strong does not wither, Deep roots are not reached by the frost.... J.R.R. Tolkien
deryk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 03:36 PM   #5

Trailer: Boler (B1700RGH) 1979
Quote:
Originally Posted by barring View Post