Escape 17B vs Scamp 16 towing - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-12-2020, 08:03 AM   #1

Name: Paul
Trailer: Scamp vs. Escape
Portland
Escape 17B vs Scamp 16 towing

Hi there,
I'm a complete novice, have never towed anything. I have a Toyota Highlander 2017 with trailer weight rating of 5000 pounds.
I'm deciding between a new Scamp 16 standard or Escape 17B. Although both trailers fall within my tow vehicle's stated capacity, the Escape is longer and heavier.
I live in Oregon and would use on mountain passes and forest service roads.

My question is: Is it significantly easier (or safer) to tow the Scamp 16 (not sure what GVWR is, but dry weight is 2000 pounds) as opposed to Escape 17B (dry weight 2500 or GVWR 4000)? Should the towing differences factor into my decision making process?

Any advice appreciated.
Paul PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 08:10 AM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
See the thread Trailer Weights in the Real World for real world weights and tongue weights for both models. Post #297 links to a spreadsheet of the data that's easier to use.

I think you'll find the real world difference between similarly-equipped units to be on the order of 500# or so, averaging around 2500-2600# for a S16 and 3000-3100# for an E17B. There's more variability among Scamp 16's because there are so many layouts and more stuff is optional.

That would be enough to be noticeable when towing in the mountains, but both are still well within the capabilities of your vehicle.

Best wishes with your decision!
Jon in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 04:07 PM   #3

Name: bill
Trailer: 2013 Escape 19
The Mountains of North Carolina
Registry
Since you have a Highlander with a 5,000 pound rating, you should be fine. Many will tow the heavier Escape 18 with the Highlander.