Getting conflicting info from VW on towing capacity - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Closed Thread

Old 02-08-2015, 05:45 PM   #1

Name: Kevin
Trailer: Currently educating myself and shoopping
North Carolina
Getting conflicting info from VW on towing capacity

Hello to All. I'm a NEWBIE!!!

I'm new to things but plan on taking an extended road trip later this year. I will be traveling solo and I'm perfectly comfortable with minimal amenities. With that said, here's (one of) the early questions I've run into and can't get a definitive answer to. It seems like a simple and VERY IMPORTANT question.

I have a 2010 Golf TDI with a standard transmission. The Volkswagen TDI is a fuel-injected turbo diesel. It has lots of torque and plenty of power (as compared to a straight gas model).

I’m looking at small, light-weight camping trailers and have come across some conflicting information.

My owners manual says the vehicle is rated to tow up to 1,000 lbs. However, in Europe, (including the UK), the same car is rated up to 725 kilograms - which is 1600 lbs, obviously a significant difference (60%). I’ve also come across reviews, articles and forum posts that say TDI models are the best towing vehicle for their size in the UK. So the question is ... what explains the difference? I have written (and called) VW-USA and although they're friendly enough, all they will say is that "there's a difference in the 2 vehicles". When I ask for specifics I get basically corporate stonewalling.

I have no desire or intention of “maxing out” what I will tow. In fact, I'm focused on keeping the trailer as light as possible. However, the 60% difference is confusing. Does anyone have any suggestions on howto proceed? Or perhaps know if there IS a difference between the European and USA versions of the vehicle? If so, what exactly is it?
Horsepower?
Engine size (displacement)?